Racial Profiling in the U.S.

   In modern day America, inequality can be found every where between every ethnic and social group. An issue that I find to be the most pressing is racial profiling because it is a form of racism that many have encountered in their life. Stop & frisk is an example of this. If someone fits a particular image of a black or Latino, then they can often be subject to this police brutality. I myself have experienced racial profiling, every time I’m asked if I’m “white” because I don’t use slang when I talk  and I don’t have an accent. I don’t fit a stereotype of what a Hispanic person is supposed to be, because of how I dress and how I look and how I talk. This makes me a victim of racial profiling. Everyone who has encountered similar experiences are victims of racial profiling. I think that it is a topic that should be discussed in schools and communities for there to be change. People should be educated on how people have been racially profiled in history and in their own lives. Once these stereotypes of what ethnic groups should look like are broken, there will be more equally.

Leave a comment

Filed under Project Assignments

Leave a comment